Over40

Over 40 & Just Started Playing the Guitar! Will I Ever Get Good?

Hello everyone! I am a 47 year old female who just took up the guitar a few months ago and what a slow, self fulfilling journey it has been so far!

What are your thoughts? Can I be any good eventually, starting at such an old age?

• Haha 1

In a short while, if you stick with it, you will start to play well enough to make yourself happy.  A short while is 6-12 months.

You might progress faster or slower, but if you are persistent you will learn.

This is very important

Make sure the guitar has the lowest action possible without an over amount of buzzing.  Get a professional to do this for you.  Bad action on cheap guitars is a large part of why people give up.  I've been learning to play for over 50 years and I can't play a guitar with significantly high action.  The nut slots are often too high.  That makes playing on the first few frets hard.

This has been a public service announcement

Stick with it.  Ask questions.  The only stupid questions are the questions not asked.  

Take a look at Kirk's guitar lessons.  He has posted a lot of free lessons, but he does charge for lessons that are more diverse and complex.

• Like 2

Thanks Rocker Bob! Especially the tip in regards to the "action" ! I  remember trying to learn the guitar at 30 and gave up because of this reason! Oh and perhaps a lack of patience and dedication! lol 

Hi over 40,