Steven Mal

How did you learn legato and what are some exercises you frequently practice?

I'm trying to learn legato playing and I've used various exercises for about six months now but I feel like I'm not improving much. How did you learn legato technique and what exercises do you use?

First, tell us what you have done to practice this technique.

Next, are you using a metronome?

Are you self teaching? Or, using an instructor?

What about your playing makes you feel as if you are in a rut?

First, tell us what you have done to practice this technique.

Next, are you using a metronome?

Are you self teaching? Or, using an instructor?

What about your playing makes you feel as if you are in a rut?

I've been using exercises and lessons from websites and videos. I could post links if you want to see exactly what I'm doing. I always use a metronome when I practice legato. Currently I am self-taught. My playing hasn't improved in months and I discovered that I don't have a lot of stamina, in addition to lacking speed.

I don't know that examples would help. Most legato exercises are fairly straight forward affairs.

IF by "legato" you are referring to the use of hammer ons and pull offs, then that is one style of playing. If by "legato" you simply mean playing smoothly, then that's somewhat another.

Either way, I would start you off with the same advice, listen to yourself as you play.

This is the issue with many players even as they advance in capabilities. They simply are not aware of what they are playing as it will sound to the audience. Students are, of course, so focused on the notation/TAB they can't yet split their attention between the two.