• This topic is locked This topic is locked
No replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   solidwalnut

Moderator | Lesson Contributor

• Lesson Contributors

• 2,098 posts
  • Joined 12-October 06

Posted 05 March 2007 - 05:53 AM

Welcome to this little corner of the world of guitar lessons!

I'm very glad you're here and I want to tell you how happy I am that you've decided to pick up and play this wonderful instrument. It can really be a best friend. And you know how friends can be: really great to be around and a source of real joy, but sometimes a source of frustration! I hope that in your journey you find a real source of contentment with your new friend but you also realize that when building friendships you'll need a little patience! You'll have some successes as well as plateaus along the way. Learning an instrument is just like life: take the good with the bad and keep going the best you know how.

A little about me: I'm self-taught, starting in November of 1970. 33 of those years have been playing professionally or semi-professionally. I currently have a small number of guitar students that I teach each week in my home studio. I don't believe that longevity of playing qualifies me to teach guitar, but that the ability to communicate does. One of my big passions is communicating the written word about how to have fun in learning how to play.

Another one of my passions is recording and audio engineering. I've had many studio sessions over the years, beginning on the 4-track mixer at home all the way up to the big multitracking sessions of today and anything in between! I've produced six CD projects, including two solo CDs, as of 2008, and this has been a huge source of joy for me. I currently have a 64 track project studio at home (if you're interested in the list of equipment, please check out this page). I have an electronic background and there's just something about the combination of electronics, audio and playing the guitar that keeps driving me...