34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Unit

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-December 06

Posted 25 January 2007 - 08:56 PM

Hey Everyone,
I've been playing guitar for 2 months now and I'm practising simple songs, and some of Kirk's simpler finger picking songs... but I've noticed that I find myself having to always slow down my playing to a really slow pace 'cuz I can never switch chords easily and quickly enough. I come from the piano :unsure: I played that a lot - are there any piano players with some advice? or just anyone?
~Matt

#2 OFFLINE   Teddy Madison

• Active Members
  • 193 posts
  • Joined 05-July 06

Posted 25 January 2007 - 08:59 PM

Give it time. I played keyboards and chord changes are MUCH easier. It will come in time, just keep at it. It's all about muscle memory and when it happens it's pretty cool. All of a sudden you make a clean change. Of course, you then mess up the rest of the song cause your in shock. ;)

Wayne

#3 OFFLINE   allthumbs

• Active Members

• 16,550 posts
  • Joined 11-February 05

Posted 25 January 2007 - 09:10 PM

Two months is not long. Hang in there.

#4 OFFLINE   solidwalnut

Moderator | Lesson Contributor

• Lesson Contributors

• 2,098 posts
  • Joined 12-October 06

Posted 25 January 2007 - 11:10 PM

Unit said:

Hey Everyone,
I've been playing guitar for 2 months now and I'm practising simple songs, and some of Kirk's simpler finger picking songs... but I've noticed that I find myself having to always slow down my playing to a really slow pace 'cuz I can never switch chords easily and quickly enough. I come from the piano :unsure: I played that a lot - are there any piano players with some advice? or just anyone?
~Matt