7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dcinpo167xl

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 21-November 05

Posted 02 January 2006 - 02:10 PM

Hi folks,

Having been inspired by this website I have decided to purchase an acoustic guitar
to replace an ageing and very high action classical noname guitar that has recently come out of the loft after 30 years. I have narrowed down my choice to the Tanglewood TD8ST or the Yamaha FG730S. Despite the TD8 supposedly being the best selling guitar in the US, I can't find any independent reviews for it. I have read several for the FG730S and they are all positive.
Is there someone out there who knows these guitars or brands who could provide some advice. I'm looking mainly at using them for finger picking ala Kirk's lessons.
As a beginner, I'm not that confident at going into a shop to strum with an audience and I know the shop assistant will be able to make both sound good. I would appreciate a push towards one or the other.

Thanks, Dave

#2 OFFLINE   jomac

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 07-November 05

Posted 02 January 2006 - 02:41 PM

Hiya dave,
all i can offer is that i own a tanglewood resonator which is great. Ive also used a tanglewood 45 sundance model which i think is one of the best acoustics i've tried.really low action and sounds great, almost plays itself if you know what i mean. as for yamaha, i did try a few in a shop and wasnt that impressed hence going for the tanglewood but i dont know the model your after so it might be ok. hope this helps.

#3 OFFLINE   vee

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 16-May 05

Posted 03 January 2006 - 12:28 PM

dcinpo167xl said:

Hi folks,

Having been inspired by this website I have decided to purchase an acoustic guitar