• This topic is locked This topic is locked
No replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Kirk Lorange

Site Founder

• Admin

• 4,243 posts
  • Joined 31-January 04

Posted 03 November 2005 - 01:56 AM

The TAB, GuitarPro file, midi files and notation that come with this lesson are now only available as part of the "Fingerstyle Lesson Pack" Details here.
Here is part 1 of "Blackwood Stroll", a little piece I composed recently which I named after the street I live on, here in White Rock, Canada ... white rock, black wood ... they really should get more creative in their place names. It's a very happy sounding little ditty, lots of fun to play, well beyond the 'beginners' level that this site is named after, but like all the lessons here, everything is broken down and tabbed out, so with enough concentration you can get those fingers to stretch out and OBEY. This is something that never stops, by the way; I've been twanging since 1961 and I still have to concentrate on anything new and make my fingers obey. It's VERY important to play at least a little each day, even if it's just for 5 minutes. I just came back from a 5 day trip without my guitar and it took a lot of playing to get my dexterity up to scratch and my brain back in gear. I think I'll buy one of those little travel guitars to take with me on trips in the future, so I needn't go without.

Blackwood Stroll is in the key of D, and the guitar is tuned to dropped D. As you can see, I'm posting more and more lessons in this great tuning, which is the way my guitar is always tuned these days. So, tune that bass string down to D, adjust all the other strings, and get stuck into it.

The progression for part 1 is:

D - - - | D - - - | D - - - | D - - - | D7 - - - | G - G#dim - | D - Dm-5/A A7 | D - - - |

(Replace the last D with an A, and then repeat the whole thing for the complete verse section.)