marinoFret

What do you prefer: Flatpicking or fingerpicking + why?

What do you prefer: Flatpicking or fingerpicking  

1 member has voted

1. 1. What do you prefer: Flatpicking or fingerpicking

I first learned to play using a plectrum. A couple of years ago I tried some fingerpicking tunes and I got the habit. Just seems more natural to me. Better control too, it seems.

I voted flatpicking, even though i like to do both.

But i have the problem of disobedient fingers. So my fingerpicking is crap :P, but i still try and do it :smilinguitar:

I started out flatpicking, then tried finger picks. When I was doing the hippy travelling around Europe thing in the late 60's I wound up in places where they didn't sell picks, and after I'd lost mine, I started playing with bare fingers. I've stuck with it ever since.

I mostly use a flatpick when doing powerchords and rock/blues, but when doing melodic on my accoustic's I fingerpick. My nails keep breaking on my strum hand, otherwise I would use fingerpicking all the time.

I'm a hybrid picker too, mostly when playing acoustic but with the electric I mostly play with a pick.

Reason: With the acoustic if I'm doing fingerstyle then obviously I'll fingerpick, but otherwise I'll use a pick together with my fingers and that suits my playing.

Whereas, with the electric I'm playing predominantly blues stuff and so I use a pick.

Flatpicking because it's just what I've always done. I've started playing with a few of Kirk's fingerpicking lessons though - always good to broaden your horizons!

It is fingerpicking for me. Lack of access to plectrums when I started was the driving force. Then too, I had heard Chet Atkins play and I was hooked on that style. It was years before I realized he used a thumb pick. (No TV) Too bad I never was able to master the style.