Owens_kiwi

I want to buy a Reso, help!!

Owens_kiwi    0

I am quite new to the slide-guitar thing and i want to buy an affordable Resonator guitar. Does anyone have experience with Johnson Resos? I am interested in the JM 998 Serie...does anyone know how the quality of these instruments is?

And is there a "classical" look for those instruments? Are the shining chrome-models traditional or came the first models in the good old days along like the "sandburst" models?

Kirk Lorange    128

Sorry, O_k, I'm not familiar with Johnsons. I do recommend that you try out before buying though. Resonators can be very dull sounding if you get a dud. I've tried many and very few have that singing, ringing quality we all want to hear.

Owens_kiwi    0

Thank you for your advice...i have come to the conclusion that i want to spend a bit more money for a Reso. I just ordered the Natonal Catalogue, however it´s hard to make a decision which model is good for me, cause i can´t play them. Over here in Germany one hardly has got the chance to find National gutars in music stores...further more i am left handed....

So do you think it would be a risk to order a national guitar without i played it before?

allthumbs    8

Nationals have a great rep. They should for what they cost. There is at least one custom reso maker in Germany. I saw his stuff years ago. You might be able to google for it.