Sarah1124

Interested in getting an electric guitar.

I am new to guitars and I was wondering if there were any smaller exectric guitars because I am not very big. I am afraid that the regular sized ones would be too big for me to play. Does anyone have any reccomendations on good smaller sized electric guitars? I was looking at the Jumpstart packs from Ibanez. Are they any good? Or are there any other smaller guitars that would be inexpensive?

How small are you? 3/4 guitars tend not to be of the same quality as the full sized. Another way to go would be travel guitars. You may find higher quality in the high end models. What is your price range?

Here are a couple.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/products/C6245.jsp

I found reviews about the Ibanez. Not too good.Heavy metal tone, poor pickups and not realy a small guitar. One of the guys here just bought a 51 squire which he is very happy with. Might be worth a look. Good quality for a resonable price or even an agile if your on a tight budget. The lp has a smaller body than a lot of guitars,but tends to be heavier though. Heres the Ibanez review.

http://www.harmony-central.com/Guitar/Data4/Ibanez/GRX70-1.html

Sarah,

There is also the Squier Mini Strat - although it's maybe more of a kids guitar. (but I could be wrong).

... and of course there's the Daisy Rock girl guitar range, these are smaller guitars made especially for girls/women or who knows maybe even some guys :). You either love them or hate them.

-----------

Note: I am not recommending any of these, just letting you know what's available out there in the smaller size electrics.

Clancy

Even full size guitars come in a range of sizes.

Wow, you learn something new every day... I've never heard that before.

IMO your best bet is a trip to a guitar store and try a few on