Thanks Kirk

2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   laurobb

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 14-October 05

Posted 05 December 2006 - 04:58 PM

Kirk, Just want to say I started playing fingerstyle about two years ago, but have played guitar for many years, when starting I picked up Mark Hansons products, which are great. While learning for all of us, I think there becomes a need to play the stuff thats common( Beatles, Clapton) ya know the the great pop songs. No one really does that except you, I just want to say how much I appreciate what you do. I think I speak for all on the forum. There is not alot out ther that pertains to familiar songs, so thanks again, one other question I have becasue I try and learn songs, and memorize them, I wonder what the trick to retention is. I am curious to know how long it usually takes you to learn a fingerstyle arrangement like that ones's you have on your site? and do you have to constatly play them so that you can retain them. Thanks Rob

#2 OFFLINE   Kirk Lorange

Site Founder

• Admin

• 4,216 posts
  • Joined 31-January 04

Posted 05 December 2006 - 08:09 PM

I'm glad you're enjoying the lessons, laurobb.

Remembering and retaining: I don't really see these fingerstyle tunes as a bunch of notes to remember, but rather as a structure. To me, a tune is basically a chord progression/melody line/bass line. Those three elements are the same thing to me, so that's what I remember; the details, like which chord fragments to insert, the exact shape of the bass line, the phrasing etc., are flexible, they can change and differ each time I play the tune, so long as they remain part of the structure that really is 'the tune'.