6string

How'd you learn to play?

How did you learn or how are you learning to play guitar?  

2 members have voted

1. 1. How did you learn or how are you learning to play guitar?

• self taught
    • lessons
    • self taught & lessons by mostly self taught
    • self taught & lessons by mostly lessons

Jason    0

Many hours of rewinding, listening, rewinding, playing, rewinding, listening....

Having a PC has made this much easier.....finding this site cemented my love for the instrument and learning new tunes.

allthumbs    8

I took lessons for a short while at a music store. The only teacher they had available was a classical guitarist. I wanted to learn blues and he was game till his teacher started screaming at him because his technique was being corrupted by the blues. Har. The blues still got the mojo.lol.

bmfy    0

i used to get classical lessons which were rubbish. i had them for about three months where i taught myself mostly. But then i stopped and had lessons which are good so im still having them.

bluesguy    0

Well for 8 years I was trying to teach myself. I had books, cds, some computer software, and help for a few guitar playing friends. But honestly I was stuck. Then I decided for find a guitar teacher. Turns out a player I knew, respected and had seen play a few times also taught. I spent 18 months taking lessons (2x a month, 1 hour per session). My playing and confidence improved by at least a magnitude.

toxicity    0

I cannot speak much of how I learned to play the guitar, but more of how I am learning to play it. I've only started less than a month ago and it has mostly been through some magazines I bought a while back together with the Cd's that accompanied them, then a book that i skim through every now and then, and of course Kirk's lessons. Other websites have been also helpful in reinforcing the knowledge I have gained throughout my learning process.

It has been an interesting month!