Gsugirl

Melodies & Chords

I am new to playing the acoustic guitar and I was wondering if anyone out there could help me understand how to play melodies and chords simultaneously? I can play them each by themselves but when it comes down to playing them both I am very confused! 

• Thanks 1

Gsugirl,

There are some very goo lessons on this site to get you started. 

Welcome to the forum!

Mike

It begins with the key signature of the song.  Once you've determined the key you are to play in, then you have some idea which chords are most likely used in the progression.  

Once you have the chords being used, you can see these are all derived from the scale of the I (one) chord, which will be identical to the key signature.  In other words, if the key is "C", then the I chord will always be C major.  

Other chords in the progression will be extracted from the C Major scale.  Let's say you're playing a rather simple I-IV-V (one-four-five) progression you'll see the C Major scale contains the intervals of F and G which correspond to the (IV) F Major and the (V) G Major chord.  A G flat Major chord would not be typical in a song in C.  That also suggests you probably won't play a G flat in the melody.  You occasionally might, but that's a different explanation.  

Melodies will (almost always) follow the notes contained in the (chromatic) scale of the chord you are playing.  This makes learning scales fairly important to your progress as a musician.  

The mechanics of how to play melodies along with chords varies with how you strum the strings of your guitar.  If you use a pick, you might play melody notes by not hitting certain strings, muting strings with your finger(s) or by dropping an unused fretting hand finger onto a string used in the chord shape.