yvonne

Just tuned guitar and it sounds way off

Hi all.  I am a newbie to this forum and guitar playing!  I have a korg chromatic tuner I use with tuning my electric guitar.  It has been doing a good job of tuning up my guitar.  However, I just tuned it up and the notes all sound off.  When I play chords they sound bad and the open G sounds really awful. I put new batteries in it but it isn't any better.  Any hints as to what may be going on? 

The tuner is also jumping all over the place.  It flashes from B, C to E to G.  Its going wacky

Another question, I noticed when reading the manual that one can calibrate the Hz.  Would that affect it?  What should it be?  It is currently set to 444hz

Really appreciate any input.

Sounds maybe that a new tuner is needed? I once was given a Korg & it was always unreliable and difficult to use. I ditched it and bought a Fender Tuner which I've had for years & it still works perfectly and is easy to use with a moving needle and scale.  

I'm sure there are a lot of tuners available to choose from. Why not check out a few different tuners at a guitar store & see if getting a new tuner might solve your problem.

Read your manual from the beginning again.  Most chromatic tuners have variable settings which allow a user to tune to "other than" standard tuning.  

Since "The Guitar" is tuned in equal temper (https://www.google.com/search?q=guitar+equal+temper&rlz=1CAACAY_enUS752&oq=guitar+equal+temper&aqs=chrome..69i57.5781j0j1&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8), many players prefer to tune slightly sharp on one or more strings.  This may be referred to as a "sweetened tuning" in your Korg manual.  You probably do not want to use any tuning other than standard as a newbie but read the material to understand what is involved.  It is a setting, and you need to familiarize yourself with the functions and the settings of the tuner.