ffrandy

anyone ever heard Aria?

ffrandy    0

Need some help. I have an opportunity to get an Aria AW75 acoustic for $40. Question is are they decent guitars? I'm new to playing and on a budget. Any help is appreciated.

carol m    64

Hi ffrandy. Where to start! First of all I have never played an Aria AW75. Things that affect whether you buy this one or not are:

1. How desperately do you want to buy a guitar - any guitar? Is this is your first guitar and you really want a guitar? If so, $40 is a good price that will give you a chance to learn to play a guitar - any guitar.

2. How much can you afford to buy a guitar - any guitar?

3. Considering this particular guitar:

a. Why is it being sold at such a cheap price? Answers might include: it is never played anymore - if so, try to find out why - is it to do with a problem with this guitar itself, and if so, what. If it is a reason about the seller: needs money, lost interest etc. means there is probably nothing wrong with the guitar itself.

b. Are there any obvious 'defects' with the guitar?

For example, is the fingerboard straight or warped: look at the guitar along its length at eye level and see if everything lines up in a straight line without any bowing.

Are there any cracks in the soundboard wood: cracks are different to dings - my fav acoustic is an ebay special with a ding at the side of the soundboard (top of the guitar) and it makes no difference - but a crack along the grain is likely to affect the tone of the guitar and not a good thing.

c. Do you like the sound of the guitar and it feels 'comfortable' when you hold it and if possible, to play it. Even if you have never played a guitar, still hold it and see how it feels to you.

Other factors:

• If you really want to play guitar, any guitar will do.
  • Do not be persuaded by price unless price is the major factor for you.