davidgossett

dumb question about electric guiters

I'm looking at getting a electric guitar. I play gospel music I just want it to play rhythm at home with my wife singing and her on the keyboard. I have a acoustic and just want to try something different. I am a beginner at the guitar so I don't know a lot. Can someone tell me the difference between a strat. Les Paul and sg. Guitars? Thanks

David

JanVigne    27

IMO, tough question because the differences are too broad and mainly personal.

My impression of "tone" would be the Strat is not ideal for gospel since it has a thinner, sharper tone that a Telecaster. The Start can be made to sound fuller by way of the multiple pu's and the five way switch but it never, IMO, crosses over into a full sound you can get from other guitars. Sort of depends on how much you spend on the Strat too. Low price means lower cost put into the pu's.

LP and SG are the typical Gibson sound, not tremendous difference between these two. Again, the SG is always a bit harder and more metallic sounding to my ears. Though, I have to admit, I don't often listen to music where the SG is the favored instrument. LP's sound rather "phat" to me. More mellow than a Strat or the SG. Of the three, the LP is the better choice for chording. As with the Fender, cost is going into pu's and the more you spend, the better you get.

I tend to prefer an archtop however. Think Sister Rosetta Tharpe and you'll hear all of these Gibson based guitars being played during her recording career; http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/Forgotten_Heroes_Sister_Rosetta_Tharpe