Harish Chetty

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop PRO

I am new to the guitar world and have basically no idea of what I am up to, But I really would love to learn to play the Guitar

I was confused while selecting the Guitar as the Epiphone Les Paul Standard has three versions, standard,plu and plustop pro, Which version is best for me as a beginner?

Besides what all should I buy for my Guitar, what amps what kind of pics etc.

I need a decent set which does not kill my wallet.

Please help I have no idea about guitars.

sheraton    20

How'do Harish :)

the main difference in the three is the quality (look) of the grain in the wood on the front of the Guitar, and price, i think the Pro version may have more pickup options like a coil tap and maybe a lock tune tailpiece...

the standard is an ideal Guitar for a beginner through to a seasoned player.....i'd say :)

picks and strings etc is down to what feels best for each person...

there are loads of amps available at reasonable cost which are good enough - again to see you from beginner through to more seasoned player :)

the Fender Mustang range and the Roland Cube range are reasonably priced with good sound Quality and features - what i'd go for as a beginner

if it's within your budget, then any Epiphone with one of these amps would be an ideal starter package and could be more than good enough to see you past the beginner stage :)

but there's plenty to choose from in the guitar and amp world these days........too much maybe ;)

Paul...........

Thanks for the reply

I was thinking that I would go for the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top Pro as I wanted to start with a reasonably good guitar, and I personally love lots of songs where the guitarist is playing a Les Paul. And I have also heard that its a great guitar for beginners as it supports all kinds of music (I have weird choices and I kinda like songs which are romantic and soft to soft metal)