Gilmouritis

Real or fake Stratocaster?

Gilmouritis    2

Hello all, I have been practising for 6 or 7 months now, and was thinking it would be a good idea to upgrade my cheap knock off, and and buy a real stratocaster, I found one on the local advertising board in my area, ill include pictures, I contacted the owner, who wants to sell the guitar because they are going over seas, claims the guitar has only been played a few times, the owner also stated that they where not to knowledgeable about guitars after I had asked them if they knew about what year it was from, and only knows that after taking it to a music store, it was found out that its a true fender, and that only the neck had been rebuilt, the price was rather all very affordable, included a fender amp and all sort of odd goodies, but for some reason, I just gotta make sure its real, I’ve heard of fakes, so is this a true strat? sorry about the pictures, these are the only ones available.

post-125782-0-06485100-1378909890.jpg

post-125782-0-95424200-1378909894.jpg

post-125782-0-07640300-1378909901.jpg

RolandC    8

That's not a Fender strat headstock--neither the old one from the 70s nor the current one.

You said the neck was "rebuilt?" I'm guessing that it's (maybe) a Fender body and someone replaced the neck with a stock neck (looks like maybe a Fernandes) and marked it up to look like a strat neck.

FWIW you can pick up a real Fender MIM Strat used on Ebay for around $250.

• Like 1

sheraton    20

it's defo "not" a Fender neck..........and the body doesn't look right to me either - the top body horn is the wrong shape and the cutaway on the bottom has too much distance between the scratchplate and body edge.........i'd be inclined to say that nothing on this guitar is true Fender :thumbdown

Paul...........

• Like 1

Gilmouritis    2