Ahmed MacTavish

D'addario ej47 VS ej45 , which is better ? and is there any difference?

im going to buy Yamaha C40 classical guitar and im going to buy strings with it

ej47 and ej45 strings are at the same price

im just a beginner and this is my first time to buy a guitar

the strings i want to buy are normal tension , im afraid if i buy hard tension strings they would damage my guitar on the long run

i dont know what is the best for me since this is my first time to play a guitar should i buy also hard strings ?

eddiez152    129

The ej45 strings are silver plated copper wound nylon (softer warm tone) like a traditional classical guitar

The ej47 strings are bronze wound nylon with a warm but (brilliant tone) more like an acoustic guitar

They are all the same size and tension.

carol m    64

Yes, what Eddie said - for anyone other than a very experienced player, it will make no difference to the sound or the ease of playing.

Why not buy one set of each and see if you think you can find any difference at all?

karcey    42

G'day Ahmed, welcome to our community.

Just to add a bit to Eddie's answer, at this stage in your music career, it doesn't matter what strings you buy. Your ears aren't tuned yet, and you have far more important things to concentrate on than the very subtle differences in tone you'd experience on your C40. It isn't an instrument that demands a particular type of string. For my guitars, I use ordinary, inexpensive, soft strings on my plywood guitar and soft or medium, better quality strings on my solid tops.

How about you get a set of 45s and a set of 47s. Put the 47s on first and play them until you feel you need to change. Then put the 45s on. I'd be very surprised if you can pick the difference, and even more surprised if it matters to you!