sherminator19

Upgrading a beginner setup

Hi!

So I've been using my Squier Standard Strat and Peavey Audition 7W Amp since I started playing 3 years ago, and now that I'm in a band, I've decided to start the process of upgrading from those two bits of kit.

The thing is, I just want a decent sound without spending too much money, so I'm asking here for some help with choosing some new kit. For my guitar upgrade my budget is ~£400 and for my amp it's ~£150-170. I don't really care if its second hand or third hand or 100th hand or not, as long as it works well.

I've already narrowed down some options though. My local guitar shop has a really nice second hand '04 Fender MexiStrat in some weird very pale bluey colour (£345) as well as a Classic 60's series Stratocaster (£330), and they seem like a good choice because, not only do they sound nice (I can't personally tell the difference between them), but I'm used to the Strat shape. My local pawn shop also has a Fender Showmaster (£290) a PRS Santana SE (£265), and an SE Custom 24 (£365) All of which also seem good, but I'm unfamiliar with them and have not actually tried out.

On the amp front, I've had my eyes on a Vox VT40+ from Andertons or a White Horse Half Stack from Gear4Music, but I'm not really sure about either of them...

Me and band play all kinds of rock, such as indie, grunge, pop punk, hard rock, etc., and I have a Zoom G3 and a EHX Big Muff with wicker that I use with my current setup

I've been on the UG forums and the advice was dreadful (basically along the lines of "Stop being poor" and "Buy [insert expensive guitar] and [insert expensive amp]"), so here's hoping I don't instantly fall underneath mountains of abuse.

Sorry for the huge amount of info. Again, this is due to the bad experiences at UG, being told to give more and more info haha!

Thanks,

Shez