boudicca

Help me make noise.

boudicca    0

Hi guys, I’m a total noob I’m afraid – off on my summer holidays from uni and really want to get into learning the guitar quickly while I have time, so I can get my practise off the ground before work comes calling again! I’m looking to buy a guitar next week if possible, plus amp and pedals, and I hope I can have some of my confusion cleared away quickly by you knowledgeable people :)

As far as the guitar itself is concerned, I think I’ll be wanting to go with an Strat (American Standard) – I do not want fat or “classic rock” sounds with a lot of low end so I’ve ruled out a Les Paul. The main thing I’m confused about regarding the actual guitar is pickups. I think I’ll be wanting to go with a single coil rather than a humbucker, and active rather than passive pickups (for similar reasons of wanting a tone with a lot of harsh, bright high end), but I don’t know if there’s anything else I should be looking for. Also, can I get something close to the sound of a Strat without actually getting the real thing? My budget is limited but I will go for the real deal if I have to.

I’m more unsure about the amp. I want to go for a solid state (for more high-end again, and also I don’t want to have to fiddle about changing tubes). I’m looking for distortion and reverb in the amp, to hopefully limit the number of pedals I need to fork out money for. Can I reasonably expect decent distortion and reverb within a relatively cheap amp – or would it maybe be a better idea to look for separate pedals?