chords fingering dm7

9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tommo

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 30-April 12

Posted 30 April 2012 - 05:53 AM

Hello guys!

I'm new to playing the guitar, and have been working my way through a series of video lessons.
One of the lessons mentions the Dm7 chord and shows the recommended fingering to be played with the fingers 2 1 1
However, I am finding it very difficult to get my hand in a comfortable position to play this and to get the chord to ring true. I find it much easier to use the fingers 3 1 1 instead.
Is there justification as to why it should be played 2 1 1 as opposed to 3 1 1?

Thanks in advance!

#2 OFFLINE   Doug

Grand Member

• Active Members

• 1,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:48 AM

Hi Tommo,
Short answer - do whatever works ;)
Long answer, prolly best to use 2 1 1 as it will be a good exercise for learning the dreaded F chord where you'll need 3 for another string.

Best of luck.
"we don't see things as they are, we see things as we are" - Anais Nin

#3 OFFLINE   OldG

• Active Members
  • 761 posts
  • Joined 03-August 06

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:51 AM

Its worth persevering with the 211 fingering,as this is only an finger away from an F chord, a small move to Am and Dm, the basis of partial barre chords that can be played with the thumb over to complete etc,etc. IMHO of course....
'Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery; None but ourselves can free our minds'.
Robert Nesta Marley 1945- 1981

#4 OFFLINE   tommo

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 30-April 12

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:58 AM

Cheers guys!
Sigh, well, I want to do this properly so time to go give my hands a workout.

#5 OFFLINE   OldG

• Active Members
  • 761 posts
  • Joined 03-August 06

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:18 AM