35 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   gasbag

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 420 posts
  • Joined 31-January 08

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:23 PM

View PostStu74, on 15 April 2012 - 11:45 AM, said:

Im only learning myself so im not an expert but im not sure if tuning all your strings down a semi tone is a good idea for a bigginer.
Please someone correct me if im wrong but in the beggining we learn the most common and easy open chords to get us started but having the strings tuned down will not allow us to use the common way of fretting a particular open chord.
Hope that makes sense :confused:

That makes sense to me but for a different reason.
I am one of the older guys in here (but still terribly good looking) and I have arthritis in my hands, fingers and wrists.
I tune my guitars down one full step and then capo it on the second fret which brings it back up to standard tuning.
It really helps old sore hands and makes playing a bit more fun. I imagine it would do the same thing for young hands that get sore from just starting out.
If it's tourist season why can't you hunt them?

#22 OFFLINE   Stu74

• Active Members
  • 418 posts
  • Joined 24-March 11

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:47 PM

I will have to think hard about this one.
My 1st thought is if you tune the guitar down a step and then put a capo on, the strings would be as tight as before and just as hard to fret as before you tuned it down.
I am probably wrong.

#23 OFFLINE   karcey

• Active Members

• 1,329 posts
  • Joined 02-January 06

Posted 15 April 2012 - 04:53 PM

View PostStu74, on 15 April 2012 - 02:47 PM, said:

My 1st thought is if you tune the guitar down a step and then put a capo on, the strings would be as tight as before and just as hard to fret as before you tuned it down.
I am probably wrong.
I don't like telling folk they're wrong, so lets just say there's a concept that you haven't quite got hold of yet.