- - - - -

My Fretting Hand Is Cramping Up

10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jimbo70

• Active Members
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 30-December 08

Posted 19 February 2012 - 08:26 PM

I've been playing for nearly four years and practice 45 minutes to an hour 6 days a week but still find my fretting hand cramps up especially when I play Barre chords for more than a few minutes. Does anyone know of any hand excercises I can do to help increase the strength and dexterity in my hand?

#2 OFFLINE   mset3

• Members
  • 1,432 posts
  • Joined 27-June 11

Posted 19 February 2012 - 08:56 PM

Jimbo,

Check how you are holding the neck when making a barre chord. You are probably holding the neck too tight when fingering the chord. Watch how hard you are pressing down on the strings. A light touch works. As far as a type of exercise goes, rest when you feel cramping coming on. Squeezing a rubber ball can help build up hand and finger strength.

Mike

#3 OFFLINE   starsailor

Prolific Member

• Active Members

• 6,878 posts
  • Joined 03-February 07

Posted 20 February 2012 - 03:48 AM

It does sound like a tension problem Jimbo, try and see if you can relax a bit more when playing, like most physical pastimes it also needs a bit of a warm up before you start the serious stuff so maybe spend ten minutes just noodling around on the fretboard, here's a couple of basic exercises, really just stretching which you can fit in anytime, just monitor what you do though, if those cramps persist and it's causing you pain it may be worth seeing a doctor to see if there might be something else going on.

http://www.livestron...guitar-players/
You don't stop laughing when you grow old; you grow old when you stop laughing.

#4 OFFLINE   nickcallear

• Active Members
  • 272 posts
  • Joined 09-December 09

Posted 20 February 2012 - 05:26 AM

I always start my sessions with about 10 - 15 minutes of chromatic exercises which works wonders for warming both fretting hand and picking hand.