- - - - -

Newbie Here

6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   IBnez

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 22-January 12

Posted 22 January 2012 - 06:46 AM

Stumbled on your site here while searching for forums that may assist me to improv.

Played acoustic off and on for 20+ years as a rhythm guitarist, and bass for the local church and a garage band several more years, but never learned to improvise leads or melodies.

Made a resolution to memorize the Major, Minor, Blues, Pentatonic, Mixolydian, and Dorian scale structure, and there respective arpeggios in all 7 modes as a gesture of my commitment to learning improvisation. My wonderful wife also bought me an Ibanez Artcore AM93AYS, which is as BEAUTIFUL visually as it is audibly.

I see that a few here take a chord approach to melodies. Would anyone be willing to assist/point me to more information regarding chord style improvisation?

Hoping to glean insights from you all here.

Thanks in advance

Rick
Aging Thrill Seeker

#2 OFFLINE   Kirk Lorange

Site Founder

• Admin

• 4,217 posts
  • Joined 31-January 04

Posted 22 January 2012 - 08:08 AM

Welcome, Rick, and you've come to the right forum.

I've been saying to my members here for years now ... "Melody loves chord tones". That's just a fact when you look into it and it's been my approach for decades now. There's nothing too complicated about it: Form your lines around the ever changing matrix of chord tones that every tune throws up rather than trying to remember scale and modes and juggle them all according to the chord progression. The latter works great for some tunes, doesn't work at all for others, whereas the chord tone approach works for all.

What specifically, would you like to know about it?

#3 OFFLINE   paulg1630

• Members
  • 76 posts
  • Joined 17-November 11

Posted 22 January 2012 - 11:35 AM