noeticity

Another new guiter player !

noeticity    0

Hi everyone! I'm new to playing the guitar, but am a fairly experienced musician classically speaking - opera, piano, and flute. I live in Texas, and will be buying my first guitar in the next few months hopefully, but I want to be absolutely certain of what I'm buying and already have a decent grasp of how to play it before I make the purchase.

I have already played or heard every guitar at Guitar Center, and settled on a Fender that had a clear sound. But before my visit, I had sort of fallen in love with a guitar I'd found online...

So now my question actually comes from the guitar I found online, a Luna guitar... I like the style of it, and I like the sound in the videos of it (including some musicians that use the brand, not the company reviews)... but the specs on it call it a "quilted top." What exactly does that mean? Is it just another term for it being non solid top, or a decent alternative to "solid top"? I could not handle the sound of any of the non-solid top guitars at GC, but I didn't see the term "quilted top" anywhere there.

Here is a link to the guitar:

http://www.lunaguitars.com/acousticproduct/floralotus.php I have not played any Luna guitars and despite searching various guitar forums I haven't found much info on them. Any help would be appreciated.

karcey    42

G'day Noeticity, Welcome to the forum.

The term quilted refers to the grain structure of the maple used in the soundboard of this guitar. When you look at it you don't see the usual lines of normal timber but that blotchy effect typical of maple.