nickcallear

DEAN ML wiring problems

Hi folks,

I bought a DEAN ml yesterday off my good friend for £80 gbp

Its got a active emg 81 in the bridge which sounds amazing but the problem is the passive neck pup dose not work. As im new to the active pup scene i dont know weather or not its been disconnected or there is a problem with the wiring.

Its got a 3 way switch and only works in position 2 & 3.

Its a nice guitar and i would rather do the work my self as i worked with soldering in my previous job.I would just like to get a bit of information and wondering if any body else has had this problem before.

Thanks for your time

Ive also uploaded some pics of the new edition

9153.attach

9154.attach

9155.attach

The guy came round again last night and i asked him,He had the neck pup disconnected because he only played metal.

So now i need to connect the pup as i play a bit of all of all sorts and need the clean sounding neck pup.

Dose any one no where to get wiring diagrams from or is there any good resources on the net.

All help welcome

Thanks Nick

The easiest way to disconnect a pup is to snip one wire close to the switch. Let's hope that's the way he did it.

The sensible way to snip a wire is to leave just a small bit attached to the switch so you can see in the future where it came from. Let's hope he did that too.

Have a look at the switch and see if it's obvious where the wire came from. You may be lucky and not need a diagram. If you can't see where it came from, then the position of the switch contacts when it's dead may show you which contact to use.

The easiest way to disconnect a pup is to snip one wire close to the switch. Let's hope that's the way he did it.

The sensible way to snip a wire is to leave just a small bit attached to the switch so you can see in the future where it came from. Let's hope he did that too.