7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nicolisp

Newcomer

• Active Members
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 31-December 09

Posted 01 January 2010 - 09:40 AM

Hi all,

I have been playing guitar for 15-16 years. I specialize in the style of Jerry Garcia in May 1977. I am looking for a way to improve my improvisational ability.

Jerry knew his basic scales and a little theory, but in all my research I've concluded that he didn't use much theory while improvising. If you listen to his live solos... you can hear that he was just following the melody/chords. What's cool about his style, though, was that he followed the melody while doing all those cool, fancy, speedy runs and licks.

My questions:
Is it possible to hear an example of how the Plane Talk system would apply to a Dead song? Say, for example, the first solo in a live version of Eyes of the World? If you listen to Eyes, please look for a live version from the mid to late 70's. '74-'78 are good years. Check out the Dead on archive dot org (9-18-74 is good... solo at 2:53). The first solo is just over 2 bars of Emaj7 and 2 bars of Bm (two different keys). In order for me to improv, I am locked in to using E major ionian over the first 2 bars, and B dorian over the last 2. I just know Jerry wasn't thinking modes like this. Perhaps in his practicing, but not live on the fly (the guy was probably too high to be thinking scales and modes, anyway).

Will the plane talk system help me in this style of playing?

Sorry for my rambling. Also, sorry if this is in the wrong forum... I'm new here.

-nicolisp

#2 OFFLINE   allthumbs

• Active Members

• 16,550 posts
  • Joined 11-February 05

Posted 01 January 2010 - 03:20 PM

Took a peek at a clip. it certainly sounds like something a plane talk player would do. You should be able to find some of kirk's improv vids which will give you a better idea.

#3 OFFLINE   davidjones774

Newcomer

• Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 01-January 10

Posted 01 January 2010 - 07:15 PM

Nico,