CirrusPilot

My Saga Stratocaster Photo Diary

CirrusPilot    0

So I'm a hobbyist woodworker and I thought I would give this Saga kit a try as an attempt to get my feet wet into some guitar building. Let me tell you first that it isn't any kind of woodworking project. The only woodworking is cutting out the shape of the headstock and sanding the edges. It's better defined as a painting and finishing project. I bought the kit from eBay for $95. It arrived and went over the pieces to make sure things were all there. As far as I can tell I received all the pieces. I dry fitted everything to make sure it lined up and fit. No problems. All the predrilled holes were correctly done. The body was sealed and smooth. I went over it with some 0000 steel wool just to get any burrs and things off. Here are some pictures of the pieces as they looked right out of the box.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

As you can see, the headstock is a paddle shape that you have cut into the shape of your choice because of copywright issues. I was able to find a headstock template online for a typical Stratocaster. I cut the template out, adjusted the centerline, and trace the outline onto the headstock paddle. Here is a picture:

Headstock.jpg

Here is what it looked like after it was cut out and the edges sanded:

ClearNeck2.jpg

And now for the first goof up on the project. I taped the fretboard off with painters tape so I could spray the back of the neck with clear coat. I put probably 4 or 5 coats on then I took the tape off. Where the clear coat met the edge of the tape, the clear coat was rolling back onto itself. It one place it peeled down all the way to the wood. So I ended up having to strip the clear coat from the entire neck and start from scratch again. I ended up totally ditching the idea of clear coating the back of the neck. Instead, I rubbed about 5 coats of Tru-Oil on the back of the neck. It is a lot smoother feeling than the clear anyway.

ClearNeck.jpg