Daktari

Recording direct to computer or BOSS 600 ???

Hi there,

I just joined this forum yesterday and already I have a technical question to ask. I am experimenting with playing soukous guitar music from Africa and I am in the process of recording a few pieces, more like a sketch pad really. I am using a BOSS 600 for this which I am just about coping with. I then will have to send anything I record to the computer before I can burn cd's or download onto a site like this for example.

My question: Would it be easier for me to record direct to my home computer and therfore cut out the BOSS 600 stage and if this is possible, what gadgetry would I be needing. Although I have been playing for around 40 years, the technical side/recording I have always been slow with and I fully admit to being a computer blockhead. How does that work. Is there software with virtual guitar amps and effects and how does the guitar signal get converted to a digital signal? HELP.....

Any suggestions for this approach or would I be as well sticking with the BOSS 600 method. It does seem to get pretty good results whether recording direct in or by using the built-in stereo mics to hopefully capture some of the room ambience. I play all my stuff through a BOSE L1 pa system which is great for detailed and accurate reproduction of sounds.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Gordon.

P.S. I forgot to mention. As well as guitar for these African style recordings, I also use a djembe drum, a Tacoma acoustic bass, various percussiony things, a bouzouki, auto harp and hopefully soon, a gyil (christmas gift maybe). Thought these extra instruments might effect the computer recording possibilities.

Thanks again, Gordon.

Welcome Daktari Do you mean one of these BOSS BR-600 Digital Recorder :: Overview