sidpatel

Myth or Fact ?? :: Loosen the strings if not playing for a long time..

Hi Friends,

Being a newbie, I have a small doubt...

Is it good to loosen the strings if not

playing for a long time??

I have heard that if I dont loosen the

strings ( if not playing for a long time ),

then the neck would bend, resulting

in increased space between the string

and the board ( requiring more effort to play).

Thank You !! :)

--Sid

We've had a couple of questions on this, I did a bit of research and the information I found generally says loosen the strings if you're storing your guitar for a few months, I don't know what the experience of other members with this is but I've found my strings do move and it appears to depend on the conditions in my little studio/shed sometimes I pick the guitar up and they've tightened sometimes they've slackened so even if I'm not playing that day I now give it a quick tune, I had a bit of a funny experience with my oldest guitar a little Spanish guitar I bought 34 years ago, it was stuck in my attic at the Family home for years but I rescued it, it was though unplayable the action was way high, I bought it home noodled with it for a few days then put it back in it's case and it spent 8 years in my sons room doing nothing, I decided to move it in to the studio a couple of months ago and pulled it out of the case, I was a bit surprised to find that the neck had straightened and the action was low again, needs a bit of work but it did move a fair bit over those 8 years and It was a nice surprise.

So in my opinion I would slacken the strings a little bit but not right down, also as they are wood they do tend to move a bit so if you store it make sure it's in a place that is dry but has a pretty consistent temperature preferably not too hot or too cold, the biggest enemy to guitars in my opinion is humidity or damp that's a killer, hope this helps a bit Sidpatel:winkthumb:

Hi Stars !!,

Thanks for that wonderful explanation...