azerothian

How to read guitar sheet music?

Hi I am still a beginner. I learn most songs from googling guitar tablature or reading chord boxes. I played piano maybe 17 years ago when I really young, but that doesn't help because I remember nothing from sheet music.

The only thing I remember is a treble clef and I don't even remember what that is.

I cannot afford a teacher or have the time to go to one, so sadly I must teach myself. I never found tab or chord boxes hard, but this looks pretty difficult.

Is there a book I should get that will teach me? My friend gave me this old book called "Scales & Modes in the beginning" but I can't read any of the scales in it because it's all sheet music.

Well you're in luck azerothian because our very own Fretsource has done a whole series of lessons on this (and other things). Here is a link to his lessons

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/forum/fretsources-lessons/9731-standard-music-notation/

and here is a site where you'll find free guitar sheet music in notation/stave form from easy to hard - I'll use the link to their fretboard/stave app so you can learn what goes where.

Fretboard - www.eythorsson.com

• Like 1

Is there an opposite of this, you click on the notation staff and

the possiblities appear on the fretboard?

Hmm.. I just went see if I can do that on Tux guitar and it worked but only in the open position. I don't know what good is that but it's freeware and you can download it.

Well you're in luck azerothian because our very own Fretsource has done a whole series of lessons on this (and other things). Here is a link to his lessons

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/forum/fretsources-lessons/9731-standard-music-notation/

and here is a site where you'll find free guitar sheet music in notation/stave form from easy to hard - I'll use the link to their fretboard/stave app so you can learn what goes where.

Fretboard - www.eythorsson.com

Wow thank you so much. I will be reading through this all thanks.