FatStrat

Recording thru soundcard with amplitube

Ok I'm new to this. A couple of days ago, I learned on this forum that I could plug my guitar into my computer sound card.

After some tinkering, here's what I ended up with:

1. Plugged Guitar into Digitech Processor

2. Used a cable with a 1/8 connector on each end to Connect Digitech Headphone Jack to Soundcard line-in jack.

3. Presto! I could hear my processed guitar sound through my sound card. The sound wasn't great, but definitely an improvement over my Vox Amplug.

4. I downloaded Audacity. I was able to record myself playing along with a backing track and extract it as an mp3. Way cool, except after listening to myself, I'm not as good as I thought I was :). My technique needs some work!

So far so good.

Looking for better tone, I downloaded Amplitube. I set the Digitech to Bypass mode and it sounds incredible! Spent last ight jamming along with backing tracks. I'll never put new batteries in my Vox Amplug again!

Here is the problem. I can't get Audacity to record the sound from Amplitube. My internet research tells me there is no solution to that one.

So finally to my question: Which recording software WILL record the output from Amplitube using my current low tech connection?

Thanks for the response almaink. Unfortunately, I'm running on an XP box. Also, I'm using the headphone jack on the Digitech to connect to the soundcard. I'm not having any problem hearing the guitar. I have my soundcard output running through a stereo receiver. I can hear the modeled output from Amplitube throught he headphones or the speakers connected to the receiver. Amplitube works great. I will definitely use it when my amp would be waking everyone in the house up. The sound quality is far and away better than the little Vox amplug I've been using. The problem is that while Amplitube is running, Audacity won't record at all. There must be some recording software that will work with my configuration.