Fretsource

Fretsource lessons - guitar theory quiz

Hi all - I've added a guitar related music theory quiz with two levels of difficulty (beginners and beyond) to my lessons forum. I kept the beginner level roughly in line with the UK grade 1 music theory exams. That's about the level reached by beginners after a year of study - so it's not for complete beginners.

Anyway, have a go and feel free to comment, query, spot mistakes, etc. and thanks to Si16 for helping me check it out.

FRETQUIZ

This is great! I particularly like that you can take as long as you want to come up with an answer. :wheelchai A good range of questions too.

I was going pretty well on 'beginners' but....I just answered one that went 'Non musically speaking, what other name can you give to the note A?' more or less the wording I think.

Well that one stumped me, and when the answer was G# that stumped me as well. I probably misread the question, but there isn't a 'back' button. I don't understand the question or the answer, Fretsource - any clues?

Thanks Clancy and Carol.

Carol - I'm sure the question was, "What's another name for A flat (Ab)?", which is G#. But I'll check it in case I missed out the flat. Anyway, that's exactly the kind of mistakes I'm looking for - so you can have an extra point for that one :winkthumb:

Thanks guys. I'm working on adding some help pages to it, explaining what's covered in each level.

In the meantime can you give a quick primer on Minor Scales needed for the Beyond option.

I know there are a few different ones, but is it usually the Natural Minor that's usually meant when people refer to, say, A Minor Scale?

A Minor doesn't have any sharps or flats so it must be

A B C D E F G A which means T T S T T S T T isn't it?

So that's 1 2 3b 4 5 6b 7 8 but a flat 6 can't be right can it? And what happened to the flat 7? Has that 'augmented' up to the full tone?