Reaver

Where should I begin to start improvising on Guitar?

title says it all.....like what type of knowledge base should I build to become a successful improviser and where should i begin?:smilinguitar:

well i can play most tabs after an hour at normal speed..Im just learning scales and I have spent over a year doing exercises to strengthen my fingers..but i must say scales have really opened my eyes to the knowledge of the fretboard..i want to know more like this because im sure its an essential skill for improv...

Any advice is appreciated even if you think its really obvious i would love to hear it :yes:

..at this point i cant improv if my life depended on it !!

Well, Kirk's book, Plane talk is exactly what you are looking for. Read the testimonials to see what I mean. Scales never did it for me either. I got to the point that i could play any scale in any key , slowly but correctly, and still was not making coherent melodic choices.

The basic thing to remember is that strong melody loves chord tones. Start thinking chords. it is a different mindset than scales. Some find it much easier to work with.

books cant teach you to improvise , although they may hold some information. the trouble with books is ...... that they are somebody elses way of thinking , and with improvisation you may be better off developing your own so that you can freely explore the fretboard without much trouble .

the blues is always the best way to start impro .

record or get a recording of a simple 12 bar loop and improvise in the relative pentatonic scales that apply to it ( part of your learning should include learning how many fit in and why )

then turn your scale into blues scales and see what u can do with that .

you should begin doing a research in improving your guitar. In today's trend, a guitar is more improvised if there's a multimedia software installed on it.

Hi ya Guitarhero,