OldManGuitarNewbie

Hanging a guitar on wall

I am very new to this. I have a Yamaha FG730 and plan to take it camping with me. There is very little room in my RV to store a guitar. I plan to place it someplace secure while on the road, maybe on the bed with a blanket over it, or in another secure spot. However, when we're parked I want to keep it more handy. I am not planning on taking the guitar case as it's too big and bulky. If you have spend time in an RV you will understand.:smilinguitar:

I've seen ways of hanging a guitar in the shops. Most seem to use a piece of leather (looks like a 6 inch belt) that connects to the top two tuning knobs. Then the leather piece is hung over a peg on the wall. My only concern is will the tuning knobs take that weight? I have also seen hangers designed to hold a guitar's head underneath, the part on the wall being a "Y" shaped affair into which the guitar neck it placed. That would seem a better design, but I do not have the room for a special hanger on the wall like that.......I already have hangers, really more like pegs, on the walls already, which is why the leather "belt" option is more attractive.

Ideas?

I don't know it I'd want to hang a guitar by a strap at the tuning buttons. Try something like the ones designed to hang from under the neck itself. They go for about $5-10 or so. Check Musician's Friend or just google guitar hangers. And I would at least get an inexpensive gig bag for your RV travels, a lot better than a blanket on a bed, those are less than $30 and a good investment, and will not add too much bulk and can be folded and stored when you need to. Good luck.

A soft fold-able bag might work, but the type hangar you suggest most likely will not. There is no room on the walls although there are existing hooks I could use.