bojangles182

what do i need to start? please any help is good!

Hi, i have been playing for awile now and i just want to get some music recorded but have no idea where to start. I wont to kit myself with a home studio but have absolutly no idea where to start, webcam mic and sound recorder wont cut it anymore :P

to start of with i have afew guitars amp and cable.

i want something on my computer where i can just plug in record and play with good audio quality.

proper noob here please help.

First let me welcome you to the forum Bojangles182...:yes:

"Tekker" our resident Guru of sort's, has a multitude of great lesson's and tutorials on just about any aspect of recording and studio questions one could desire...start here...

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/forum/tekkers-lessons/12554-computer-recording-what-you-need-get-started/

and be sure to check out all of his lesson's in the Lesson's section, you'll be glad you did!

thanks for the link, will help alot, guess i need to find a decent program first then any sugestions?

well i have through ma sound card, 2mic,2in,2out and afew speaker sockets all 1/8 size, so i take it ill just need to get the jack converters and a real mic to get started.

i think thats right anyway.

Tekker    1

Hi bojangles and welcome to the forum! :clap:

There are a couple great choices depending on what your needs are. If you would like to be able to create backing tracks with drums, bass, and all kinds of instruments on the computer and then record your guitar along with it, then several members here sing high praises about Power Tracks ($50).

However, if you're in a band and want to record all of the instruments yourselves, or you play multiple instruments, or you just want to record yourself without needing to create backing tracks then I highly recommend Reaper (also $50). It has a fully functional demo version that never expires, so you can try it out before buying.