Craka

Absolute beginner question

Craka    0

I've always wanted to learn how to play guitar, and find myself ready to purchase one and learn, however not sure on what to purchase.

I like music from Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton, Eagles, Led Zepplin, Wolf Mother. For my interest in their styles should I start with an Electric or Acoustic guitar and what would be a reasonable guitar to start with?

karcey    42

Welcome to the forum. Take Stratrat's advice (above) but read it twice, and while you're at it, have a browse through some of the other posts on the forum because there's plenty of information there.

My warning about electric guitars is that the guitar itself is but a small part of the setup. After that you need an amp. But not just a simple amp like they sell in starter packs, you need one which will create different sound effects.

For example, I have an electric and a 20w amp which I thought was what I needed. All it does is make the guitar louder. Big deal. The novelty wears off that after about five minutes (or less if there's someone else in the house!) There are plenty of posts here about different amps, so I'll let you read them or let someone else give advice. So the message is, make sure your budget will run to an electric setup that will satisfy you, or you'll lose interest real fast.

The acoustic guitar isn't anywhere near so dependent on extra investments. Generally when you find a suitable one you will have endless playing enjoyment, without buying anything else but strings, at least until GAS strikes. But the acoustic can't, by design, play the sounds that an electric can.

Back to you, what sort of noise do you want to make?