Hey i am a beginer to improv. When i try doing a improv it always comes out so bluesy if anyone knows what i am saying. I am trying to play more of a rock improv, and im having such a hard time getting it to sound that way. Can someone give point me in the direction of some help or offer some advice. i am just playing basic scales i guess. Sorry for the ignorance but im just starting out

Hello there,

Are you using the pentatonic scale? That usually makes it sound bluesy. If you wanna break out of that type of sound, try experimenting with the major scale shapes. Since all the notes are there, you have to be pickier with your note selection.

I suggest you work on the melody when you solo. I'd also suggest you try working on 3,4,6 note groups on both the pentatonic and major shapes using a metronome (start at the slowest speed you can play clean and increase by 1 click every day). Also try stringing scales together since you don't really have a lot of range by just staying on one scale in the same position.

But again, being able to play all those notes is useless if you don't have a main melody or theme - your audience has to feel that you're going somewhere with your solo, that there's a point. You have to communicate your idea and emotion through your playing. I don't know how else to describe it but that's how it should be. But as always, see what works for you.

Hope this helps. Good luck!

lorsban

yea i am working with the penatonic scale since that was where i was told to start off. When you say major scale shapes do you mean i.e being able to play all notes in the key of G besides F (playing a F sharp instead) and thanks for the response

yea i am working with the penatonic scale since that was where i was told to start off. When you say major scale shapes do you mean i.e being able to play all notes in the key of G besides F (playing a F sharp instead) and thanks for the response