rocker13

New to songwriting

Hey I have been playing guitars for a couple years and am new to songwriting. First off i i'm having some trouble with writers block. i have songs i just don't know how to put lyrics to my music. Also i'm having trouble figuring out how to sing to the lyrics i'm writing. any suggestions:dunno:

Hi punkrocker13, I think everyone deals with writers block now an then, to me its just a matter of finding a theme. Once I do then I write down every word or phrase that comes to mind and then step back and look it over to see if it can work in one way or another. Sometimes you just can't force it, so let it go for a few days and then try again.

I'm not much help on getting lyrics for your music, I have no problem with the writing its the adding music thats fighting me at the present time, kind of the opposite from you.

Again I'm probably not much help in how to sing your lyrics, I think that would depend on the tune, rhythm, style etc. I'm sure the more informed will offer some real help for you.

Hi punkrocker13

There are quite a lot of places to find inspiration for lyrics, personal experiences, the way society works, the media, news stories, lyrics are really reflections of your view of the world and your outlook on life, the main thing if writing a song is to connect with the listener, the majority of us have some shared experiences we've loved and lost people, we know what it is to be happy or sad and the majority of people have access to the media so we have opinions on news stories etc.

The main thing to avoid with songs is not to be obscure to a point that no one knows what you're thinking accept you that alienates your audience straight away, songs also need a good tune and in someways rely on the vocal expression of the lyrics

A song also needs a good hook to reel the listener in, this can be a killer chorus or an unforgettable guitar riff anything that sticks in the listeners head.