NetKnockout

Strings - The Differences...

I kind of asked this question before but it was kind of heaped in with some others and didn't get addressed, so here it is again...

I had originally purchased the lighter weight/ gage, (which is it?), strings because I was told that they would easier to play... Though, I actually don't notice any difference in the ease based on them...

So, if someone would could they please explain the advantages and disadvantages that the different strings hold, it'd be great!... Also, for the most part, I don't like the sound of the strings when my fingers slide across them, my father suggested that perhaps I try "flat wounds" (?)...Sorry, I've never had a guitar lesson, everything thus far has been self taught, so forgive me if my terminology is incorrect at times... : (

I haven't really experimented with different string gauges so I'm no expert but lighter strings are easier to bend and are easier on the fingertips but don't provide as much sustain as thicker strings.

The way a string is wound refers to what is wrapped round the core of the string. Round wound strings are most common and, as you can see, consist of a metal wire wrapped around the core of the string. The sound of the skin rubbing against this corrugated surface is largely responsible for string squeak.

Flat rounds still have an outer layer but it is completely flat and thus reduces the noise of string squeak, the trade off is that they have a flat sound which isn't to a lot of people's liking.

You can also get half round strings which are similar to round wound but the outer layer is treated to flatten it a little but again the sound and sustain are compromised.