Nutty

How to set up?

Nutty    1

Okay, I am brand new at this (home recording). Every site I go to says "plug your guitar into the computer (sound card?)". Well, I don't have an electric guitar. I do have a pick-up that I can put on my guitar...would that work if I have the right adapter. Or, I also have a small acoustic amp (SGH amp 120v/60Hz 17W). It has an "input" and "phones" jack. And I have my new microphone I got for christmas. I have the adptor for that so it fits in the amp. My guitar teacher mentioned there was a way this could be set up, but I can't remember what he said or what he had in mind.

Can someone get me started? In the meantime, I'm still reading up on audicity to get that set up right. Also, I'll start reading many of the great posts on this forum.

Thanks.

Nutty

Tekker    1
Every site I go to says "plug your guitar into the computer (sound card?)".

Yep, that's right, the sound card is what you'll plug your guitar into.

Well, I don't have an electric guitar. I do have a pick-up that I can put on my guitar...would that work if I have the right adapter.

Yes, this would probably be the best route to go. You don't have to mess with mic placement and all of that. Also, I don't know what kind of mic you have, but chances are it's a dynamic mic which is not a great mic for acoustics. Condenser mics are the ones you'd want to mic an acoustic with good results. So the pickup would probably sound much better than the mic also.

You won't need the amp, you can just plug your guitar straight into the line input on your computer. If this doesn't give enough volume you can try the mic input. Try the line input first though as it'll sound better than the mic input.

To make that work you'd need a 1/4" (guitar) to 1/8" (sound card) adapter to plug your guitar into your computer. Should only be a couple bucks at a music store or basically any store that sells electronic devices (Radio Shack, Circuit City, etc).