WernHalen

Concentrating

Hey,

I have mentioned this a couple of times before, but I have struggled with a mild case of lysdexia when i was younger... Sepcifically with regards to maths... :dunno:

Anyway I am having problems with putting together full free flowing solo's. I play short licks and then i miss a couple of notes and then I pick it up again. It seems that I cant concentrate on the notes enough to see where I should be going next. I get carried away in the music and then I forget where I was and where I was going... This is sometimes (seldom though) a problem even for music that i know and have played fluently before... :crying2:

Anybody have similar problems? Have you found anyway to get around this?

That's a tough one Wern, maybe someone will come up with an answer. I'm afraid I don't have any suggestion as I have no experience of dyslexia. Glad to see you back at the forum though. How's Christmas in sunny SA? :winkthumb:

Dyslexia only hinders one's ability to compute things they read. At least, as far as I know that is all it does.

I guess my advice would be for you to just slow down. Work at soloing at a slower pace and allow yourself more time to feel what you are doing. If you struggle with something guitar-playing related... Slow down and give yourself a fighting chance!

Dyslexia is not that simple Ex. Some get hit harder than others. It can effect how well you can process linear information as well as spacial relationships like left and right, clockwise- counter clockwise. Pattern recognition etc.

I feel your pain, I have even more trouble than you with my dyslexia. The only thing that saved me was Kirk's Plane Talk material. I would still be held hostage to playing tabs only if I hadn't stumbled over his stuff. It will definitely help you keep track of where you are in a tune.

I would also recommend slowing down to--as one just said--give yourself a fighting chance.