thewing

Improvising... which scale?

thewing    0

Hey! I'm a mediocre guitarist who is band now (but have only played for about 7 months). There will be a jazz concert next month and I've already mastered the songs and the solos, but I have to improvise myself. The obvious problem is I'm not sure how I'm going to receive a good sound off the minor pentatonic scale our teacher recommends us to use. I was thinking a Dorian or Mixolodian scale would be best, but I'm not sure if I can master it. A Major Scale might be good too. (I'm trying to work in a key that works well with B flat) Thanks. :smilinguitar:

d00m    0

Well, your scales seem to be fine, it's just the manor in which you play them. Since it's going to be a jazz concert, add octave chords, chromatics, passing tones, minimal bends, and various explosive licks. Listen to Jay Soto, Chuck Loeb, Paul Jackson Jr., George Benson, etc. for ideas.

Kirk Lorange    128

You'd find that all jazz players, whatever instrument they play, will follow the chords, not scales, so my advice is to really get a grip on the chords and use their tones as the main notes for your improvisational phrases ... as each chord comes into play, use its tones, then the next chord etc. You won't go wrong -- ever -- doing it that way. It's not easy, but it's a heck of a lot easier that trying to figure out which scales and modes to use. You need to know the chords to do that anyway, so one way or the other, concentrate on chords.

bmurnahan    1

I agree with Kirk. Scales have their place in music and are a great aid in helping you improve your technique when practiced in various ways(breaking them up into intervals, etc). They also give you options on which notes to use as passing tones in between the scale notes.