rapter

How do you use arpeggios to improvise?

rapter    0

I am new at improvising and like the self expression it gives. I have not yet learn all positions of a major scale but do know the pentatonic scale. Every book that I read about scales mentions something about arppegios. My question is how and why would you use arppegios? I know the intervals that make up a major triad are 1,3,and 5, are these chord tones? Would this be called an arpeggio if you strum each note individually? I don't mean to make this request long and drawned out, but I am getting stale using my ole pentatonic scale, everything is starting to sound the same. Thanks for taking time to read this and thanks again for replies.

Kirk Lorange    128

Yes, 1-3-5 are chord tones of a plain old major chord. Check out the CAGED lesson I did for more on that.

I think often people think that playing arpeggios means holding a chord shape and picking notes separately. That's not really it. It's using the notes from chord shapes as single notes, playing through them melodically as a series of single notes that can be scattered all over the fretboard. The more extended the chord, the more you have to choose from. Click on the "Power of Chord Tones" link in the moving ticker tape of my lessons above to watch a couple of examples of playing arpeggios that don't look at all like playing through chord shapes ... even though that's exactly what it is.

Here are links to those two "Power of Chord Tones" lessons:

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/forum/general-lessons/6265-power-chord-tones/

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/forum/general-lessons/6281-power-chord-tones-2-a/

Fretsource    3