edhotmail

Teaching Improvisation, Where Do I Start?

Hey, I've been playing for 3 years now and its been over a year since I've been learning how to improvise, due to my discovery of Jazz. :claping:

I go to a community college in Sacramento and I've made more than 3 new friends whom are new to guitar (1-2 yrs.), they wanted to learn how to improvise. So they came to me!

ahh! I'm relatively new as well! But I don't want to leave them hangin'. They have good intentions, and I don't want to seem like I'm holding back anything. I want to help steer them in a rather good direction. Everything I know about improvisation was learned in a very indirect and unstructured manner, so I don't know how I know as much as I do. haha

Where do I start?

But I've noticed that many developing musicians have problems learning improvisation.

It is probably due to:

1 A lack of exposure to artists with a well-developed rhythmic sense.

2 Tension in the body(poor coordination and relaxation).

3 Technical difficulties with the instrument. Lack of control, as if a barrier is blocking them from expressing themselves.

What could I do to direct my now unofficial students? lol my guitar teacher makes it look so easy! lol

:helpsmili

Hi, edhotmail.

I had never actually thought of those three points as being specifically important to improvisation. I think, musically, before you can even consider rhythmic sense, you need to know about note choice. I think the second point is relevant to all aspects of playing, ditto for point number three.

But, I'm certainly open to hearing why you think these are the three main points to consider. Can you expound?

Hi edhotmail,

Those are some interesting observations you have made.

As for number 1, I am not sure how much of a problem that is in learning to improvise but that seems like something you could offer on your own.

I agree with Kirk the numbers 2 and 3 are relevant to all aspects of playing.

So the questions are: