edhotmail

What are some useful Chord Keys?

edhotmail    0

Chord keys came up in a guitar class I was in for about two weeks, but I dropped it because of work. But before I left, the professor gave me a paper with the title chord keys. They were:

The Harmonized C chord scale:

Cmaj7 Dm7 Em7 Fmaj7 G7 Am7 Bm7b5(half diminished) then the octave Cmaj7

The Harmonized F chord scale:

Fmaj7 Gm7 Am7 Bbmaj7 C7 Dm7 Em7b5(half diminished) then the octave Fmaj7

Are there are any other types of chord scales?

Which how do I use them for Jazz improvisation? (I'm a noob of 3 years)

I was wondering if a certain chords work best with a certain type of scale.

Which scale is right for each part of a progression?

ex.)

Autumn Leaves (in Bb?)

Cm7 F7 Bbmaj7 Ebmaj7 Am7b5 A7b9 Gm7 (2x)

Am7b5 D7b9 Gm7 (1x)

Cm7 F7 Bbmaj7 Ebmaj Am7b5 D7b9 Gm7 C7 Fm7 Bb7 Ebmaj7 Am7b5 D7b9 Gm7

lol I found a whole bunch of Jazz Standards at Jazz Chord Charts - Real Book its the Real Book online! FREE!

anyways...

This might seem like much to most beginners, but to me this particular Jazz standard is always the same and boring sometimes.

Is there any particular scale to improvise as I play this?

Which scale for which chord? (is that possible)

I would like to thank anyone who could shed some light on my questions.

Thank You!! I'm new to this community, this is great!!

:beer:

Fretsource    3

Yes there are more than just those two. There's one for every major and minor key. They all follow the same system, (chords built from successive thirds of the major or minor scales) so if you know one, you can know them all.

How to use them in Jazz improvisation, I'll leave to some of our impressively knowledgeable jazzers here.