Stratrat

Here's where it all begins

If you've never heard of a "Partscaster", this pic will explain where the name comes from! :yes:

This is the start of my custom Tele build. The body and neck arrived yesterday afternoon, so now it's time to start putting it together....slowly and carefully, since it's my first build!

For the tech-heads amongst you, here's the detailed specs on it:

- Warmoth Ash body / Sonic Blue with cream double-binding, poly finish.

- Warmoth "Vintage Modern" Birdseye Maple neck / "Fat" back countour, compound radius (10" at nut, 16" at heel), 6105 frets, Corian nut, light satin poly finish.

- 3-ply W/B/W white pearloid pickguard.

- Vintage 3-saddle Fender bridge with Glendale compensated "Twang" saddles (aluminum E/A, brass D/G, B/E).

- Electrosocket jack plate with Switchcraft jack.

- Standard 3-way switching; CRL switch, CTS 250K solid-shaft vol/tone pots, .047uf "Orange Drop" tone cap, treble bleed on volume pot (.001uf cap w/ 100k resistor).

- Gotoh Kluson tuners.

- Dunlop Straploks, Fender knobs & switch tip.

- D'Addario XL .010 strings (at least to start with).

- Pickups: Haven't decided yet. Most likely Don Mare custom-wound.

As if you couldn't tell, I'm really geeked about this project and looking forward to the experience! :) I'll post more pics as the build progresses, if anybody's interested.

5910.attach

If I tried that, it'd look something like Johnny Cash's cadillac......it's a '69,'70,'71,'72.................................Good luck!

hb

Looking forward to your progress shots strat ,this will be a very intersting project to observe, good luck hopes it all goes well , not to many or no hiccups.

loking forward to seeing the end result.

All the best with it. I would love to build a guitar, but I can barely hold a hammer, let alone get a nail into wood - so something complex and requiring finesse are beyond me!

Okay, I squeezed in some time to work on the "Sonicaster" tonight, and took a few pics along the way.