agent0064life

Custom paint job on electric?

Anyone ever gotten a custom paint job and about how much do they cost if I say, design everything in photoshop already placed on my guitar so they don't have to do the designing. I'm sure there is a wide range of how much one of these could cost but hey it's worth looking into.

okay so I just searched the web and it seems there is a wide range of prices... thinking about painting one myself but I am the total opposite of an artist and a handyman... any tips?

I really depends on the experience of the painter really , I am an Automotive painter and have painted just about anything you can think of .

How much air brush work is needed , its the detail work that gets expensive , plus I use nothing but the finest paint products out there and they are very expensive !

I just did my buddies T-bucket and the paint on it was 200 bucks a quart and it took 2 quarts , he spent $1000 dollars on material and that was my cost . I didnt charge him anything , but if it was a customer it would of been $5000 dollars .

T-bucket

Then the sanding and buffing to get the mirror like finish on it afterwards takes alot of time .

Some of these custom painted motorcycles you see on TV have 20 - 50 THOUSAND dollar paint jobs , and there is little area on a bike , so dont faint when you find a Good painter and he gives you his quote .

Your paying for the talent and knowhow ,not just the labor .

Oh and if the guy is busy and good , and depending on the detail work you could be out of a guitar for several weeks or longer .

So it could be from a couple of hundred dollars to thousands , to answer your question .