X4StringDrive

Glueing a bridge

OK, any of you luthier wannabees...I need some advise.

One of my neighbors has given me an old Martin to play around with and see if I'm interested{of course I am, but he doesn't need to know how much}. This guitar has been sitting on a stand for over 12 years mainly as a decorative piece. He doesn't play and has no real interest in learning. Anyways I brought it home tonight and began cleaning it up and noticed the bridge is lifting from the body, its still attached per se, but upon placing new strings I can see it lifting as I try to bring it up to tune.

So my question is...what type of glue to use and do I need special clamps? This is a 1952 5-18{3/4 size} accoustic. Its not dried out or brittle, but I just want to make sure I do it right.

I've got lots of woodworking experience just not on guitars. I'm going to buy it as soon as we come to an agreement on $, Which could be exciting, he has no idea on the value and I've seen a few on e-bay ..wish me luck on both accounts.

wcostley    0

Personally I'd show your neighbor that it has a problem, then I'd take it to a luthier, to make sure the job gets done properly, your neighbor might even give you a better deal when he see's that it's starting to come apart.

Good Luck, on what ever you decide to do and let us know how it all turns out.

Skip

Thanks Tonedeaf, I'm not going to remove it, I've got glue type syringes and plan to inject the glue and clamp it back down. Won't have to worry about realigning it that way. Appreciate the link:thumbup1:

Sweet after a quick look at the link, I've got the right stuff out in my shop....now for clamping I suppose I can rig up something safe.

Personally I'd show your neighbor that it has a problem, then I'd take it to a luthier, to make sure the job gets done properly, your neighbor might even give you a better deal when he see's that it's starting to come apart.