JessThrasher

Edge III bridge giving me hell again...

JessThrasher    10

Ok, so I was finally sick of it snapping my strings so I was told to change from 9's to 10's. So I changed it to 10's and that's when it started giving me hell. Every time I tried to tune the strings, the bridge keeps getting pulled up. To try and counteract it, I already increased the tremolo spring tension and it didn't do no good. I tried adjusting the intonation screws but it didn't help either. I've been told that you also have to let the strings stretch if they're a heavier guage. is that true?

Does it require a truss rod adjustment? Or anything a self taught tech shouldn't attempt at home.

oh, and if you have 5 springs and its still coming up, then you aren't tuning it correctly. You're over tuning, most likely, if you already have more than 4 springs installed.

I've had Ibanez guitars my whole guitar life, and I've never had a string breakage problem. I think you're over tuning it, but I can't be sure without talking to you to get more information.

JessThrasher    10
oh, and if you have 5 springs and its still coming up, then you aren't tuning it correctly. You're over tuning, most likely, if you already have more than 4 springs installed.

I've had Ibanez guitars my whole guitar life, and I've never had a string breakage problem. I think you're over tuning it, but I can't be sure without talking to you to get more information.

Edge III bridge only has 3 springs. No wonder its called edge III.

SlickCat    1

Hi Jessica,

The edge III bridge is a floating Floyd Rose. It must be in perfect balance and body alignment to work properly.

My suggestion is to take it to a tech and have it set-up for whatever gauge strings you want to use.

I tried for two days to adjust one for a friend and still couldnt get it perfect. :jawdrop: Techs have the know how, experience and tools to do it right. Also have the tech check your saddles for sharp edges that could be causing string breakage.